Suffolk & North East Essex Integrated Care System

An overview of our Integrated Care System

Suffolk and North East Essex Integrated Care System (ICS) brings together the full spectrum of partners responsible for planning and delivering health and care across North East Essex, Ipswich and East Suffolk and West Suffolk to ensure shared leadership and joint action to improve the health and wellbeing of the one million people who live locally.

Integrated Care Systems are central to the NHS Long Term Plan which sets out that by April 2021 they will cover the whole country and that they will have a key role in ensuring joint working across the NHS and Local Authorities to make shared commissioning decisions together with providers on how to use resources, design services and improve population health.

Suffolk and North East Essex ICS was one of the first to be established in England building on the earlier work of the Suffolk and North East Essex Sustainability and Transformation Partnership (STP).

The full spectrum of partners engaged in the ICS includes NHS Commissioners, NHS Provider Trusts, Local government, NHS regulators, primary care – GPs, community pharmacists, optometrists and dentists, independent sector providers, community and voluntary sector, public, patient and carer groups, education and research and other sectors including industry, police and education.

The ICS is not a statutory body but instead a partnership or ‘coalition of the willing’ that enables integrated working through our three locality Alliances in North East Essex, Ipswich and East Suffolk and West Suffolk, neighbourhood arrangements including Primary Care Networks and Integrated Neighbourhood teams, and, where useful across the whole system or the East of England.

The full spectrum of partners engaged in the ICS includes:

  • NHS Commissioners – clinical commissioning groups and specialised commissioning
  • NHS Providers – acute, mental health, ambulance and community
  • Local Government – county councils, district and borough councils, town councils, parish councils
  • NHS regulators and other bodies – NHS England, NHS Improvement, Care Quality Commission (CQC), Health Education England
  • Primary Care – GP practices, Local Medical Committees, GP Federations, Local Professional Networks (LPNs) (community pharmacists, optometrists and dentists)
  • Independent Sector Providers – private sector and Community Interest Companies
  • Voluntary, Community and Social Enterprise sector – Community Foundations and other funders, infrastructure organisations, hospices and other community or sector specific organisations
  • Public Representatives – Healthwatch, patient and carer groups
  • Education and Research – universities and academic health sciences networks
  • Other Sectors – industry, police and crime, education, etc.

Last Updated on July 7, 2021

backhome Back Home
Suffolk & North East Essex Integrated Care System
Skip to content